Five alumni selected as 2017 Jasper N. Deahl Award recipients

The West Virginia University College of Education and Human Services is pleased to announce the five recipients of the 2017 Jasper N. Deahl Award, which honors CEHS alumni for demonstrated leadership in their personal careers, engagement in their communities and/or loyalty to the state of West Virginia or WVU. The 2017 awardees are Eleanor Green, Eric Kincaid, Eric Murphy, Candace Rotruck and Richard Walls.

Eleanor Green earned her bachelor’s in social work and master’s in counseling from WVU and proudly marched in the WVU band, before pursuing a dream of living and working in Washington, D.C. After 12 years at home, Green pursued her substitute teacher’s certification and was later hired as a reading interventionist at North Elementary, a position she has held ever since. In her free time, Green volunteers through her church, 4-H and Scouting. Green’s volunteer work includes feeding the homeless and tutoring underprivileged children. She is the founder of the Winter Weather Posse, a Morgantown-based organization that helps Monongalia County senior citizens prepare their homes for inclement weather.

Eric Kincaid has taught for 22 years. For the past 19 years, he’s been at Morgantown High School, where he currently teaches Biology and AP Biology. Kincaid holds his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in science education from West Virginia University and his Ed.D. from Walden University. He is certified in biology and general science and is National Board Certified in adolescent and young adulthood science. Kincaid is a 2013 recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching and was the 2008 West Virginia Teacher of the Year. Eric also received the Milken Educator Award, Harvard University Singer Award for Excellence in Secondary Teaching, Siemen’s AP Award for West Virginia and the West Virginia Outstanding Biology Teacher Award.

Eric Murphy is a clinically trained health educator and psychotherapist who has been employed in corporate, private and community settings since 1992. He attended West Virginia University and Fairmont State University, receiving a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts with an emphasis in special education and art education, and earning master’s degrees in community health promotion and community counseling from WVU. Murphy has worked at various not-for-profit organizations, including independent living centers, youth treatment facilities, youth development programs, and both disability and aging communities. He is currently working as a master trainer for the Dibble Institute and at WVU as the Monongalia County Extension Agent for Families and Health. He is also the co-creator and facilitator of the iFather parent program.

Candace Rotruck has served as an educator and school administrator for more than 43 years. Rotruck earned her associate’s degree from Potomac State College and her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in physical education and special education, respectively, from West Virginia University. Rotruck’s career began in Morgantown, where she worked with students with severe speech and language delays. She continued to educate students with learning disabilities when she moved to Virginia to work for Prince William County Schools. From 1991 to 2003, Rotruck was an assistant principal and principal at Coles Elementary. For the past 14 years, Rotruck has served as the principal for J.W. Alvey Elementary School in Haymarket, Virginia. Rotruck was recognized as the 2014 Virginia School Counselor Association Principal of the Year and received the 2015 Regional Distinguished Principal Award from the Virginia Association of Elementary School Principals.  

Richard Walls is a two-time graduate of West Virginia University, having earned his bachelor of science in math and biology education in 1961, and his master of arts in guidance and counseling in 1963. He holds his doctorate in educational psychology from Pennsylvania State University. After graduating from his doctoral program in 1968, Walls returned to WVU as a professor of educational psychology, where he has remained for nearly 50 years. Walls is a nationally recognized scholar in educational psychology and disability studies, having published countless articles in notable academic journals and books. Walls has mentored numerous CEHS students during his tenure as a researcher and educator and received the Outstanding Teacher Award from West Virginia University in 1971, 1972 and 1988. He was also recognized with the Benedum Distinguished Scholar Award in 1998.

The Jasper N. Deahl Award recipients will be recognized at the annual CEHS Alumni Dinner on May 5th at the Erickson Alumni Center in Morgantown, WV.  For more on the award, past recipients and nomination information, please visit the  Jasper N. Deahl Award page

Back to April E-News