Skip to main content
  • Home
  • News
  • CEHS announces first cohort of Mountaineer Mathematics Master Teacher Noyce Fellows

CEHS announces first cohort of Mountaineer Mathematics Master Teacher Noyce Fellows

The WVU College of Education and Human Services and the “Mountaineer Mathematics Master Teachers”, known as the M3T project, have selected 19 M3T Noyce Fellows who will serve as the first cohort in a statewide, mathematics teacher leadership program. The program is supported by a six-year, $3 million grant from the National Science Foundation’s Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program, along with additional grants from the West Virginia Department of Education.

The M3T program builds on previous funding from the National Science Foundation and the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation, and seeks to support and retain skilled and experienced secondary mathematics teachers and to leverage these teachers as leaders across the state. Furthermore, the program aims to contribute to a sense of how a model of teacher-led improvement and teacher leadership development can be scaled statewide. The fellows represent 17 counties throughout West Virginia:

  • Brooke County Schools
    Jami Packer, Brooke Middle School
  • Cabell County Schools
    Adam Riazi, Cabell Midland High School
  • Fayette County Schools
    Kristen Shannon, Oak Hill High School
  • Gilmer County Schools
    Kelly Barr, Gilmer County High School
  • Grant County Schools
    Jon Webster, Petersburg High School
  • Greenbrier County Schools
    Casey Whitlow, Eastern Greenbrier Middle School
  • Jefferson County Schools
    Barbara Zingg, Washington High School
  • Kanawha County Schools
    Ann Hall, John Adams Middle School
    Jennifer McLean, West Side Middle School
  • Lincoln County Schools
    Stephanie Workman, Hamlin PK-8
  • Logan County Schools
    Janet Hanshaw, Chapmanville Regional High School
  • Marion County Schools
    Hope Wright, Fairmont Senior High School
  • Mineral County Schools
    Katherine Capaldi, Keyser High School
    Amy Cowgill, Frankfort High School
  • Monongalia County Schools
    Kerianne Smead, Morgantown High School
  • Pocahontas County Schools
    Jennifer Nail-Cook, Pocahontas County High School
  • Raleigh County Schools
    Jo Frost, Woodrow Wilson High School
  • Wirt County Schools
    Jessica Theys, Wirt County Middle School
  • Wood County Schools
    Sara Klesel, Parkersburg South High School

“We have a unique and powerful opportunity to work with these outstanding mathematics teachers across West Virginia over the next five years,” said  Matthew Campbell, assistant professor of secondary mathematics education in CEHS and principal investigator on the M3T project. “Our state’s teachers should be at the center of improving mathematics teaching and learning and, with this cohort of fellows, we will work to understand how to make that possible.”

Each M3T Noyce Fellow will receive a $10,000 annual stipend throughout the project’s five-year run, pending their continued work as mathematics teachers in West Virginia and participation in the project’s teacher leadership opportunities. Fellows’ experiences in the project will include development activities to improve their mathematics teaching as well as their emerging work as teacher leaders. At the conclusion of their participation in the project, fellows will mentor other emerging teacher leaders across the state.

Since they began their work with the project this fall, the fellows have met regularly with project staff, attended national conferences and collaborated with the West Virginia Department of Education on the development of guides for teachers’ professional learning communities across the state.

“Math teachers’ problems, solutions and perspectives are too often locked in their classrooms, where no one can learn from or with them,” said Joanna Burt-Kinderman, co-investigator on the M3T project and mathematics instructional coach in Pocahontas County Schools. “M3T fellows will link problems of teaching and learning to potential solutions across the state and nation and, as we learn to improve, we are excited for teachers across the state to learn with us.”

The M3T project will accept applications for a second cohort of fellows in Spring 2021. For more information about the initiative, read the original story here.