Skip to main content
  • Home
  • News
  • CEHS recognizes Monahan Award Recipients, outstanding students for 2019-2020 academic year

CEHS recognizes Monahan Award Recipients, outstanding students for 2019-2020 academic year

WVU Morgantown’s new, phased return to campus delays the start of classes to August 26. Visit the Return to Campus website for the latest.

Each year, the WVU College of Education and Human Services recognizes its students for their outstanding achievements both in and outside of the classroom. For the 2019-2020 academic year, the College has named three graduating undergraduates as recipients of the William G. Monahan Award and seven students as recipients of Outstanding Student Awards.

“In this unconventional academic year, our students continued to impress us with their dedication to their studies and drive to become the very best in their chosen professions,” said Jessica Troilo, associate dean for academic affairs at the College of Education and Human Services. “We are proud of the way that all of our students have persevered through uncertain times and are thrilled to recognize this group of students who have gone above and beyond throughout their academic careers.”

The William G. Monahan Awards are presented annually to the most promising graduating undergraduates of the College of Education and Human Services in the fields of elementary education, secondary education and speech pathology and audiology. The recipients of these awards are selected based upon their total development, including outstanding scholarship, leadership and service.

Kayla Aboulhosn   

Kayla Aboulhosn

The William G. Monahan Award recipient for elementary education is Kayla Aboulhosn of Princeton, West Virginia. Aboulhosn served as a CEHS Student Ambassador and as the recruitment chair for Kappa Delta Pi, an honor society for future educators. She will begin her first full-time teaching job as a fifth grade teacher at Belview Elementary School in Radford, Virginia this fall. 

Sydney Luther   

Sydney Luther

The William G. Monahan Award recipient for secondary education is Sydney Luther of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. During her time at WVU, Luther was a Ms. Mountaineer finalist and a 2020 WVU Foundation Outstanding Senior. She served as a WVU Student Government representative and as a resident assistant on campus. She also worked as a Breakthrough Collaborative Teaching Fellow in the summers of 2018 and 2019. Luther will begin a full-time job as an English teacher at Sidney Lanier Middle School in Fairfax, Virginia this fall.

Michaela Donovan   

Michaela Donovan

The William G. Monahan Award recipient for speech pathology and audiology is Michaela Donovan of Lewisburg, West Virginia. As a student, Taylor was heavily involved in the WVU chapter of the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association, through which she participated in numerous service opportunities in Morgantown. She served as treasurer of the organization during her senior year and helped plan and execute the Mountain State Conference, a professional conference for speech pathologists and students in the field. This fall, she will continue her education by pursuing her master’s degree in speech-language pathology from WVU.

One undergraduate student and one graduate student is selected from each of the College’s four academic departments for the Outstanding Student Award. The following students have earned this recognition for the 2019-2020 year:

The Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders selected Danielle Pretre as their Outstanding Undergraduate Student and Allie Switzer as the Outstanding Graduate Student.

In the Department of Counseling, Rehabilitation Counseling and Counseling Psychology, Gabrielle Hammond was selected as the Outstanding Graduate Student.

 From the Department of Curriculum and Instruction/Literacy Studies, Haley Taylor was named the Outstanding Undergraduate Student and Jessica Lough was named the Outstanding Graduate Student.

 Finally, the Department of Learning Sciences and Human Development named Jessica Reed the Outstanding Undergraduate and Robin Spitznogle the Outstanding Graduate Student.